The Indian Red Cross Society, Odisha State Branch has been rendering humanitarian services to the people of Odisha since 1936. The IRCS was established in 1920 through an Act of the Parliament, the bill passed on 17th March, 1920 and became Act XV of 1920 with the consent of the Governor General on 20th March, 1920 and established on 1st April, 1936. All its humanitarian activities are based on the four core areas i.e Disaster Response, Disaster Preparedness, Health & Care in the community and Promotion of Humanitarian Values & Fundamental Principles. Binding by seven Fundamental Principles i.e. Humanity, Impartiality, Neutrality, Independence, Voluntary Service, Unity and Universality the Indian Red Cross Society, Odisha State Branch has promoted mutual understanding, friendship, cooperation and lasting peace amongst all people. It has 30 District Branches, 1 City Branch, 1 Regional Branch and 3 Block Branches, besides Junior Red Cross and Youth Red Cross units in most of the schools and colleges of Odisha.